Love and Loss. Is there any other way to share a dog’s life?

March 23, 2012 § 2 Comments

Lulu, 5 years old ......... ............ ........... .......... Lulu, 15 years old

I lived with Lulu for 15 1/2 years.  An old soul I was in awe of during her life.  An inspiration for and featured in,” A Dog’s Book of Truths”.  An inspiration for “Senior Dogs Across America”.

My interest in the world of the senior dog began as my own dogs began to approach the end of their days. This was at a time when I had lived enough years to start imagining my own mortality. I entered a world of grace where bodies that had once expressed their vibrancy were now on a more fragile path.

I saw how the dog does it; how, without the human’s painful ability to project ahead and fear the inevitable, the dog simply wakes to each day as a new step in the journey. Though their steps might be more stiff and arduous, these dogs still moved through each day as themselves — themselves of that day and all the days before.

The Houston Center for Photography is giving a solo show of this work, “Senior Dogs Across America”.

Opening, May 4, 2012

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Love and Loss. Is there any other way to share a dog’s life?

  • ART says:

    I enjoyed your photos so much! How often I’ve wished to have the dignity that comes with his aging that my little Corky the Yorkie has at age 14.5 years. He takes each day as it comes, some require more sleep than others, some have more curiosity and pep. The funny thing is the “treats” quotient never changes! I have learned so many lessons from my sweet little guy and hope to learn many more. Great, great blog.Thank you!

  • Nancy says:

    Thank you. So nice to hear about Corky!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love and Loss. Is there any other way to share a dog’s life? at .

meta

