Not what you would expect……

February 15, 2012 § 3 Comments


When I arrived in Juneau, Alaska, the Pet Nanny introduced me to so many senior dogs.  What was so startling to me was that I expected to see mostly ‘Alaskan’ type mush dogs and instead found this frail Whippet and Italian Greyhound. Forget about the rough and tumble cliche of Alaska. These dogs were cared for with so much gentleness and top vet attention.

Meg 16 years old Juneau, Alaska

Meg  16 years old and Java  14 and 1/2 years old  Juneau, Alaska

Meg 16 years old and Java 14 1/2 years old Juneau, Alaska

Java 14 1/2 years old Juneau, Alaska

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Not what you would expect……

  • Sue says:

    What GREAT pictures… as always…

  • Jan LeCocq says:

    Wow!!! We have had greryhounds. And, with the exception of Popeye, our most recent. They don’t like the cold!!! I see these guys have the proper clothing! Good to see them loved. If they are anything like greyhounds, they are very sweet dogs!

  • DN says:

    Hi, I’m so pleased to find your blog! I believe, sadly, in N. American society we turn away and are repelled by aging. When I look at a senior dog I cherish the grey, feel tenderness when I look into their aging eyes and feel so moved thinking of the life they lived – running, wagging, barking. Dogs already teach us so much. Senior dogs show us the beauty of aging. Maybe one day we can see that same beauty in people. Thanks. I am a new fan!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Not what you would expect…… at .

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

